Training

From June 2020 the library will offer 1 hour Quick-fire training sessions via Microsoft Teams. Please contact whl@nhs.net if you are interested in joining one of the sessions listed below. We hope to reintroduce longer, face-to-face training sessions later in 2020.
 
The Library offers the following training courses, to book a place or find out more, call us on 020 7288 3580 or email whl@nhs.net.
 
"Very useful to be able to read literature in a critical way. Enables me to feel confident in the literature that I'm using to support my evidence based practise" - Library Survey 2019

Quick Fire Literature searching

Learn how to devise and execute a good search strategy using both keyword and subject heading searches, search primary research databases effectively by combining searches using AND/OR operators, refine your results using limits; export, email, save your results.
 
  • Wednesday 7 October 10.30 11.30
  • Friday 16 October 09:30 - 10:30
  • Tuesday 3 November 10:00 - 11:00
  • Monday 16 November 09:30 - 10:30
  • Tuesday 1 December 10:30 - 11:30
  • Friday 11 December 09:30 - 10:30

Quick-fire Critical Appraisal of QUANTITATIVE research

Introduce the main concepts involved in critical appraisal of quantitative research, discuss features of research papers using selected questions from the appropriate CASP checklist.
The session covers basic statistical concepts necessary for understanding results.
 
  • Wednesday 30 September 09:30 - 10:30
  • Wednesday 14 October 10:30 - 11:30
  • Friday 30 October 10:30 - 11:30
  • Thursday 12 November 10:30 - 11:30
  • Wednesday 25 November 11:00 - 12:00
  • Wednesday 09 December 09:30 - 10:30
  • Friday 18 December 09:30 - 10:30

Quick-fire Critical Appraisal of QUALITATIVE research

Learn how to understand key elements in the successful and accurate appraisal of a paper, discuss the features of qualitative research and the key terminology associated with it, and understand how to use a CASP checklist to critically appraise a qualitative research article.

 

  • Monday 28 September 10:00 - 11:00
  • Thursday 9 October 10:00 - 11:00
  • Monday 26 October 10:30 - 11:30
  • Wednesday 4 November 10:30 - 11:30
  • Tuesday 17 November 10:00 - 11:00
  • Thursday 3 December 11:00 - 12:00
  • Monday 14 December 10:00 - 11:00

Introduction to BMJ Best Practice

All NHS staff now have access to BMJ Best Practice, a clinical decision support tool designed to be used at the point of care. It is available on all Whittington desktops and has information on thousands of clinical topics, including: treatment algorithms, differential diagnoses, procedure videos and even information for patients. This course will show you how to get the best out of this excellent piece of new software.
 
  • No sessions currently scheduled

Endnote

Endnote is bibliographic management software designed to simplify the process of citing references. You can use it to:
 
  • Store your and organise your references
  • Download references from databases like PubMed and HDAS
  • Automatically manage and insert references in Microsoft Word
  • Sync references with Endnote Web the online version of Endnote

Endnote is available for staff working for Whittington Health Trust. Contact richardpeacock@nhs.net to request installation. You will need to provide the asset number of the laptop or PC where you want the programme installed.
  
The library provides 1-to-1 training sessions for Endnote on request. This will cover how to download, store and organise your references, as well as how to insert references into documents and sync references with the online version of Endnote.
 
If you would like to book a session please contact the library on whl@nhs.net.  
Working on it!