Training

WHL - Training - Introduction
The Library offers the following 1-hour training courses to employees of Whittington Health Trust, Camden and Islington Foundation Trust, and primary care staff in North Central London. To book a place or find out more, call us on 020 7288 3580 or email whl@nhs.net.
 
"Very useful to be able to read literature in a critical way. Enables me to feel confident in the literature that I'm using to support my evidence based practise" - Library Survey 2019

Finding the Evidence

Learn how to devise and execute a good search strategy using both keyword and subject heading searches, search the NHS Library and Knowledge Hub as well as primary research databases effectively by combining searches using AND/OR operators, refine your results using limits; export, email, save your results.
 
  • Wednesday 18th January 10:00 - 11:00
  • Wednesday 22nd February 11:00 - 12:00
  • Friday 31st March 10:30 - 11:30
  • Wednesday 26th April 10:00 - 11:00
  • Thursday 18th May 10:00 - 11:00
  • Friday 16th June 11:00 - 12:00
  • Tuesday 25th July 10:00 - 11:00

Quick-fire Critical Appraisal of QUANTITATIVE research

Introduce the main concepts involved in critical appraisal of quantitative research, discuss features of research papers using selected questions from the appropriate CASP checklist.
The session covers basic statistical concepts necessary for understanding results.
 
  • Thursday 5th January 10:30 - 11:30
  • Tuesday 24th January 11:00 - 12:00
  • Thursday 16th February 10:00 - 11:00
  • Monday 6th March 11:00 - 12:00
  • Thursday 20th April 09:30 - 10:30
  • Friday 12th May 10:30 - 11:30
  • Wednesday 7th June 11:00 - 12:00
  • Tuesday 12th July 10:30 - 11:30

Quick-fire Critical Appraisal of QUALITATIVE research

Learn how to understand key elements in the successful and accurate appraisal of a paper, discuss the features of qualitative research and the key terminology associated with it, and understand how to use a CASP checklist to critically appraise a qualitative research article.

 

  • Tuesday 10th January 10:30 - 11:30 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Monday 30th January 10:00 - 11:00
  • Wednesday 8th February 10:00 - 11:00
  • Wednesday 1st March 09:30 - 10:30
  • Tuesday 4th April 11:00 - 12:00
  • Friday 5th May 10:00 - 11:00
  • Thursday 1st June 11:00 - 12:00
  • Thursday 6th July 09:30 - 10:30

Quickfire Health Literacy Getting your Message Across

Learn about Health Literacy and the people who are impacted by having low health literacy. In this hour-long session you will have your awareness raised and learn about how you, as a clinician, can help your patients, raise their health literacy comprehension and improve the future of their long-term health.
 
  • Monday 16th January - 10:00-11:00 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Wednesday 1st February - 11:00-12:00
  • Tuesday 7th March - 13:00-14:00
  • Thursday 13th April - 10:00-11:00
  • Monday 15th May - 12:00-13:00
  • Tuesday 13th June - 10:30-11.30

Reference Management software Endnote and Refworks

Whittington Health has a limited licence for Endnote reference management software. The software can only be installed to specific Trust PCs and Laptops. If you would like to be considered for an Endnote installation, please contact the Library at whl@nhs.net

NHS staff can also apply for Refworks, which is web-based Reference Management software. Click here for instructional videos on RefWorks. If you would find RefWorks useful, please contact the Library at whl@nhs.net we need to make a case for access for every application to HEE, so you will need to tell us why you need it.
Page last updated: 20 Sep 2019
Working on it!